Delights Day 16: Fluffy sheep sweater

I have a deep blue sweater with two fluffy sheep on the chest. Or rather, they look fluffy, but they feel…matted? I got it in England or Ireland, sometime during my teen years. I still wear it occasionally, the sleeves aren’t quite long enough to hit my wrists (which comes in and out of style).

It’s a childlike sweater from my childhood – teenhood – and it’s quirky, but not in a stylish way; more of a “OK, this is something you’re wearing that maybe nobody else would wear and it’s not terrible but it feels random” sort of way. My wonderful friend E (a delight) saw it and said I should add it to my delights, so I am, but I am sad to not have many specific memories of doing something or going somewhere interesting in it. I get sentimental about clothing because they are memory aids for certain time periods or moments. This sweater mostly reminds me of my mom being delighted with the sheep, and later my friends in college and beyond finding it a funny sweater. It’s not really that funny to me. (I can’t remember if it was funny to me when I first got it). I just like it. It is a delight. I should probably delight less in material things as they directly conflict with my inner-inner-inner desire to be a minimalist.

2 thoughts on “Delights Day 16: Fluffy sheep sweater

Add yours

  1. I remember when we got those jumpers! It was too cold for us in the UK so we needed something warm. Didn’t someone get one where there was a UFO abducting a sheep too? Good memories. 🙂

    Like

  2. Ohhh that UFO one was a shirt I think — maybe Chris? But wow good memory, I wasn’t sure why we’d gotten them, although I know we often ended up in Europe without warm weather clothing…

    Like

Leave a comment

Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑