Delights Day 22: Loungey friends

I’m an extrovert. I’ve slid towards introvert territory as I’ve gotten older and starting leaning into evenings without anyone but me and my husband and a game of Codenames. (OK, so a global pandemic has muddied this a bit, but regardless of opportunity, I do enjoy these moments more than I would have at 20.)

Still, whenever I’m with friends I get a surge of “hello!” and need to ask a million questions and share all my opinions and get a buzz from their energy. M says I am a vampire and I suck energy. It’s fine, our marriage is fine.

My delight today, though, is loungey friends. The type of friend you lounge with. No plans, no agenda, just hanging out, watching TV, doodling, chatting, having a cup of tea. Loungey friends are the inner circle of friends, and they are vital for both my extra- and introverted selves. My inner (outer?) extravert loves having a presence nearby, even if we aren’t in direct and constant verbal contact. My introvert self appreciates a deeper, quieter friendship that isn’t tedious with small talk and so. many. questions.

Leave a comment

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑