Delights Day 21: A room full of books

I love reading. It’s sometimes strange to me to remember that not everybody enjoys reading. I think it’s how people feel when they hear someone doesn’t like TV or movies – how could you not like something that is a source of entertainment, information, and art? But, of course, I understand someone wanting to avoid getting sucked into screens and some of the mindlessness that they encourage – books don’t have that flaw. Or rather, they can suck you in, but you can’t turn off your brain when reading; if you do, you’ll read the same line or page over and over.

Anyways, it is strange to me that some people don’t like reading, and it makes me wonder if they’ve ever read a good book. (I know there are also disabilities related to reading, but I’m talking about literate non-readers.) I especially wonder about the people who didn’t like reading before television and radio were available. I realize there are other forms of healthy escapism, but nothing quite like the knowledge of these mediums.

I love reading, and today’s delight is a roomful of books: it’s like a roomful of potential. Each book represents hours of adventure or insight. M spent a couple of days putting up our bookshelves recently, and one of our rooms is now a study/guest room, and it is filled with books. While we’re on the topic, I like the way books smell. Old books, of course, but really any book.

Leave a comment

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑