Delights Day 17: The Delights I don’t Write

When I sit down to write these, I almost always have multiple topics that I dismiss because they feel too broad, mundane, or personal. I want to tell you about my fried chicken sandwich with its pickle and drizzle of honey – but I want to tell you about food almost every day. I get caught up in the idea of “daily delights” and food is a daily delight for me, but this is not a food diary, nor a written surrogate of a food instagram. I’m also somewhat obsessive about food, and I find that obsessions, like dreams, are entertaining in small doses, but probably don’t translate too well.

I also want to tell you about M’s dinner order: a giant plate of loaded fries. It was delightful because it was predictable, and it’s nice to have someone you can predict. It was also delightful because the fries had an oddly pale sauce and CORN on them, and the corn reminded me of ordered plain cheese pizza from a chain called “Pizza School” in Korea and half the time it would come as a plain cheese pizza, and the other half of the time it would have sweet corn kernels on top. Afterwards we talked about how it was too much greasy food, and I declared against eating our planned burger on Friday and he said I would be hungry once again, and it was a mundanely accurate glimpse into our marriage.

As long as I’m getting some of the Delights I don’t Write off my chest – M brings me a tiny porcelain cup of coffee with half and half on a tiny matching triangular plate with a Belgium chocolate nestled on it every day that I work from home. He invented this tradition because I usually steal approximately five tablespoons of his coffee, and also “you like chocolate.”

Let me go ahead and tack on the Taco Bell dollar menu with its cheesy bean and rice burrito and former spicy tostada. (For my readers who are aghast – aghast! – at my fried and fast food interests, I also enjoy many green and nutritious foods). There is a Taco Bell near my work, and on days I have forgotten my lunch, it has breathed life into me for the price of $2.50.

Leave a comment

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑